Rainy Tuesday

As anyone in the Greenville area is probably aware, there was some serious down pour this morning.  I hadn’t realized that today was going to be a rainy day until a huge clap of thunder sounded and scared the dogs (and even the thunder wasn’t quite enough because at first I thought it was just something really heavy falling).  Okay, so it doesn’t really matter all that much that it is raining, in fact it is probably pretty good for the area.  But it was pouring really hard when I had to go to work, so I put on my jacket and prepared to run to my car knowing I usually leave it unlocked in the driveway (I do take the time to lock it at work or at a store but haven’t ever really bothered much when it is at home).  But guess what?  Surprise surprise, the car door was locked today.  So it is pouring, the doors are locked, my keys are in my pocket, and I am juggling hot coffee and a GladWare container holding my sandwich.  Oh and I’m nice and dressed up for an interview today (wearing a tie which is a rather uncommon occurrence for me).  Finally I manage to get my keys and open up the car but by that point it doesn’t really matter, I’m already soaked and cold.  Oh well, things dry off.  But the rain!  Boy, I haven’t driven in a down pour like that for a long time.  I had my window wipers going at full speed and I still could just barely see the road.  It can be a little nerve-wrecking driving in weather like this, especially when you feel your tires hydroplane a bit.  But made it to work okay and didn’t spill any coffee on myself and am mostly dry now.  Happy rainy Tuesday everybody! 

~ by Nathaniel on February 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
