Why do people need to have their volume up so loud?

When I can here the music you are listening to through your headphones all the way across the computer area you have the volume too high.  The whole reason that you have to use headphones in the library is so other people do not have to share the listening experience with you.  Further, having that many decibels blasting into your ears is likely going to lead to early onset of hearing loss (unless the hearing loss has already occurred thus explaining the height of the volume).  Don’t get me wrong, I like my loud music every now and then but when you are going into a library I would hope you would take consideration of respect.  Libraries are quiet areas where people go to study and get work done.  Almost everyday I have to ask a couple people to lower the volume of whatever it is that they are listening to because it is playing so loud.  Usually people are pretty compliant with this request but every so often I get a look from a patron who I have asked to turn the volume down as if I had just asked them to pour battery acid down their throats.  Once or twice when people have refused to quiet their music I have had to inform them that if they can’t lower the volume then I will have to terminate their computer session.  Generally this threat succeeds at quieting them down.  Not really to big a deal to me, more so I just find it interesting.

~ by Nathaniel on March 6, 2008.

One Response to “Why do people need to have their volume up so loud?”

  1. The library should invest in some subwoohuhufers.

Leave a Reply

 
