Sanford Design Ebony

While in Asheville on Monday I stopped into an art supply store to buy a sketch board (kind of like a huge clip board) and some new pencils.  One of the pencils I found, and proceeded to purchase, was a Sanford Design Ebony.  This pencil brought upon me a feel of nostalgia as it was the pencil type that I used to use all the time in high school.  My art teacher in high school, Ms. Roerig (I think this is how you spell it) insisted that the Sanford Design Ebony was one of the best pencils you could use for everything from sketching to rendering.  I haven’t used one of the Design Ebony pencils probably since I graduated from high school back in 2003 (though I am certain there are probably a bunch of them lying around my parents house considering how many I owned in my high school days).  Today I’ve brought the pencil to work and have been doing a number of sketches and I am very pleased with the feel and look of the doodles produced so far.  The Design Ebony’s have a real smooth drawing feel to them but they also have the ability to make some real real dark lines when needed.  The only downside I can think of is that they are really smudgy (not as bad as charcoal but still pretty messy) which means you have to watch where your hand is to make sure you don’t accidentally wipe out good lines.  Still a very very good drawing pencil, I feel like I need to find a place where I can buy some more.

~ by Nathaniel on April 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
