Get better tomatoes so that I can eat you!

There has been a number of cases of salmonella across the country due to tainted tomatoes.  This makes me sad because a lot of stores are being weary about carrying tomatoes right now.  Tomatoes are probably one of my favorite vegetables (yeah I know they are actually fruits — shut up) and if I can’t get them then I feel deprived. 

read about this whole mess here

~ by Nathaniel on June 13, 2008.

2 Responses to “Get better tomatoes so that I can eat you!”

  1. Yeah, I wish the tomatoes in my garden were ripe. This whole story serves to highlight another awesome reason to grow your own veggies. (However, I like tomatoes year round, but I can only grow them for a few months. That sucks.)

  2. Oh, and: squash, pumpkin, cucumber, peas, beans, corn, eggplant, sweet pepper, spices such as allspice and chillies are all fruit (if you use the botanical definition of a ripened ovary). I’m not sure why only the tomato gets picked on. These are all more fruit than apples, apricots, peaches, cherries, strawberries – those are all accessory fruits where the edible part is not the ovary. Fun with crazy botanical naming systems!

Leave a Reply

 
