Observation: People Suck at Pushing In Chairs

Walking out of work through the Training Lab today I couldn’t help but notice that a bunch of the chairs had been left in complete disarray from the class that occurred earlier in the day.  WTF?  How hard is it to push in a chair when you leave?  I just don’t get it.

Now I like to think that I usually take the time to politely push my chair in whenever I leave somewhere but I am sure I sometimes leave them un-pushed in.  I apologize for those times.  The thing that I guess really frustrates me is that it is our job to keep the Lab looking neat and so when the chairs are all over the place either me or my coworkers have to take the time to neaten things up.  Again, I ask, how hard is it to push in your chair when you leave?  

Probably I could devise an experiment that figures the amount of energy expended in the act of chair pushing, but that sounds long and complicated and likely expensive, so instead I am just going to ask that people take the whole two extra seconds and push in their chairs when they leave a table.  You get stuff out of the way for others and probably save somebody some time.  Isn’t that nice?  Yes, yes it is.

~ by Nathaniel on October 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Observation: People Suck at Pushing In Chairs”

  1. Some people are oblivious to these things. I wouldn’t take it personally. I am terrible about closing cabinet doors and making the bed.

  2. I also am horrible about making my bed. In fact I cannot recall the last time that I did make a bed. My personal philosophy on bed making and why I don’t do it is that “the sheets are just going to get messed up again when I go back to bed.” Also I don’t share a bed with anybody at present and so I am the only person who has to witness it’s disarray.

  3. I am also horrible about making my bed. In fact I cannot recall the last time that I did make a bed. My personal philosophy on bed making and why I don’t do it is that “the sheets are just going to get messed up again when I go back to bed.” Also I don’t share a bed with anybody at present and so I am the only person who has to witness it’s disarray.

Leave a Reply

 
