Elephant Drawings

My coworker Gladys has repeatedly commented on a rough elephant drawing I have up on the wall by my desk (a scan of it can be seen on this post).  Gladys has told me that she really likes pictures of elephants and has several at her house.  She asked if I would mind drawing her another elephant picture.  I did not mind at all. 

Elephants are one of the animals that I think I find interesting to draw, what with their trunks, tusks, huge ears, and all around interesting body dimensions.  I spent a few hours a couple of weeks back sketching several elephants and finally produced the following two drawings, which I have now given to Gladys.

elephant

 

elephant

I think they came out pretty well, and fit into my general style of drawing animals (kind of rough and fast aiming more to grab the essence of the creature than the exact details).

I hope Gladys enjoys them.  I sure had fun making them.

~ by Nathaniel on February 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
