Vacation May ’09

Hello friends.  I’ve been gone for the past week, taking some vacation time in my former home of the north-east USA.  I had a wonderful time, taking a break from working, and getting to see my family and friends.

Here’s what I did.

On Thursday the 7th I flew from Charlotte, NC to Burlington, VT where I was picked up by my dad.  We went to get lunch at Al’s French Fries which is one of my all time favorite burger and fries joint.  Wonderful greasy goodness!  For the rest of Thursday I hung out with my folks, had some awesome lasagna for dinner, and watched LOST on TV, which I have not seen all season (and thus was entirely confused).

On Friday my parents, grandmother, and I left for Keene, NH for my brother’s graduation (which would be on Saturday).  On the way to Keene we stopped for lunch at the Vermont Harpoon Brewery in Windsor.  With my lunch I had a Crystal Wheat beer (which I cannot find on their website) which very well may have been one of the most delicious beers I’ve had in a really long time, which is saying a lot considering that I love most beer.  It was a light bodied beer, clear and crisp, with a slight flavor of lemon zest.  While it was a wheat beer it was note of the weizen style, like a hefewiezen (Harpoon has it’s own popular brand of hefeweizen’s called UFO).  Great lunch all around.  After our meal and beer we proceeded to our motel in Brattleboro, VT which was not the best establishment I’ve ever been to, but oh well.  We then crossed into NH to meet my brother in Keene and go to a graduates’ dinner with him.  It was some really good food catered by Keene State College‘s Sudexo food service (which was surprisingly delicious — something I do not recall so much from Plymouth where we also had Sudexo).  It was a fun time getting to see my brother and meet some of his friends and the staff that he hung out with while in School.

On Saturday, was my brother’s graduation.  Because he was his class president our family got to attend a special pre-graduation brunch which was really amazing.  My parents, grandmother and I also were given special seating, which was really nice because there were huge crowds in Keene.  Our seat were right by the front.  Ian gave an address to the rest of his class (some 900 walking students plus the several thousand family and friends present).  I was very impressed and proud of his speech (though felt bad that he was kind of loosing his voice).  That evening the whole family went out to dinner.

On Sunday I took a bus from Brattleboro to Boston, which kind of sucked because it was a long ass (4 hours) ride.  I arrived at Boston South Station at about 2:15 in the afternoon and met up with my college roommate Nate.  Just a while later we were joined by our friend (and another former roommate of mine) Rocky.  We we spent the afternoon doing some drinking and then headed with yet another friend (and former roommate), Alisa to a Red Sox game.  The game was an all right one, the Sox won, but by the end I was feeling pretty exhausted.  It was awesome to spend some time with three of my closest college friends, all of whom I had not seen in almost two years.  After the game we stopped in at a bar for a few more drinks before calling it a night.

Monday we all decided to wonder the city.  Nate showed me around Boston University campus, where he is finishing up his Masters program.  We visited the Boston Public Library, which has to be one of the coolest library buildings I have ever been in.  I would love to work in a library like that.  We met up with Nate’s friend Megan and she hung out with us for a bit as we wandered through the parks.  We had a few photo op moments.  In the evening we went out for more drinks and met our friends Steve and Lindsay (whom I had also not seen in about two years).

Rocky left us to return to his work and home in May on Tuesday.  Nate, Alisa and I went to the Boston Museum of Science, where we spent several hours.  I greatly enjoyed the frog exhibit they had going on, as well as the dinosaurs (I kind of wanted to steal the Velociraptor skull, but could think of no reasonable way to get it past security).  We watched the lightning show, which made me greatly desire my own Vann de Graaf generator.  The rest of the afternoon we took it pretty easy and that evening we played some board games (my friend Nicole joined us for this part of the day).

Then Wednesday after breakfast with Nate, I caught my flight home from Logan airport.  Not a half bad flight but a pain in the ass driving for an hour and a half from Charlotte back to Greenville.  Oh well, at least it was cheaper.

All around it was a great trip.  Wonderful seeing friends and family and just having some time off from work.  But of course no trip is complete without something shitty happening.  It just so happens that that something shitty was a torn ligament in my left foot.  I sucked up the pan and dealt with it Tuesday and Wednesday, but this morning I went to the hospital just to make sure it wasn’t a broken bone.  While the bone is fine I am on doctors orders to stay as immobile as possible over the next four or five days and so my time off work has been extended till Monday.  The foot hurts like fuck and I can barely put any weight on it.  Fortunately I was given crutches to help me get around when I absolutely need to.  So for now I am bumming around my house.  Injuries fuckin’ blow.

Here are some pictures:

My little brother up in the platform giving a speech to the crowds (I hate that he has a beard and I can barely grow any facial hair . . . fucker)

My little brother up in the platform giving a speech to the crowds (I hate that he has a beard and I can barely grow any facial hair . . . fucker)

He's also a heck of a lot bigger than I am . . . also I look crazy shaggy here

He's also a heck of a lot bigger than I am . . . also I look crazy shaggy here

At Fenway, watching the game (from right: Alisa, Rocky, Nate, and Me)

At Fenway, watching the game (from right: Alisa, Rocky, Nate, and Me)

The Boston Public Library

The Boston Public Library

Hanging out on the grass

Hanging out on the grass

Me and Nate in front of the Charles River . . . so good to see my former roommate who I lived with for three years in college

Me and Nate in front of the Charles River . . . so good to see my former roommate who I lived with for three years in college

Got to have at least one quality beer drinking picture

Got to have at least one quality beer drinking picture

~ by Nathaniel on May 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
