I am Officially a S.C.U.M.S. Member

Yep, that I am.  S.C.U.M.S. standes for South Carolina Upstate Mycology Society.  I guess it is only cool if you are into the whole mushroom thing (which obviously I am).

We had a good meeting last night and Evan and I got a chance to identify some of the mushrooms we found on Sunday afternoon, which included a cauliflower mushroom, a Bicolor bolete, and Noble (or Queen) Bolete which is a very close relative of the highly sought Boletus edulis.

Good times in mushroom finding.  I feel like this coming Saturday will be an awesome fungi day as we are going on a foray in the morning and then have a home brewing meeting in the evening (beer of course requiring the fungus yeast to cause fermentation).

A huge bounty . . . I am cleaning off the Chanterelles (the yellow ones on my side of the table)

~ by Nathaniel on August 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
