Late Summer . . . a Bunch of New Drawings

I feel like I have been drawing a whole ton lately, which personally feels like a good thing (it is very relaxing in a kind of theraputic stress-relief way).  As in general, I have not produced anything of any real significance.  Most are just random sketches of whatever strikes my fancy at any given time.  Occasionally I feel like I should do something with my drawings, but I am yet to determine what.  Basically I just enjoy the act of putting down some pictures on paper.  Here are a number of my most recent illustrations and such:

The first in a serious of three quick rough drawings I did last week.  I think I was envisioning them being the cover of a new chapbook possibly.

The first in a series of three quick rough drawings I did last week. I think I was envisioning them being the cover of a new chapbook possibly.

Number two in the same series as above.  I used pencil, Sharpie, and charcoal on all three of these

Number two in the same series as above. I used pencil, Sharpie, and charcoal on all three of these

The third and final in the series. Kind of reminds me of Frank from "Donnie Darko" sans buny ears

The third and final in the series. Kind of reminds me of Frank from "Donnie Darko" sans buny ears

Some kind of dinosaur looking creature, which I drew at work

Some kind of dinosaur looking creature, which I drew at work

The Grim Reaper has always kind of interested me (morbid right?) I think this is a rough reimagining of that figure for a more modern technological day and age

The Grim Reaper has always kind of interested me (morbid right?) I think this is a rough reimagining of that figure for a more modern technological day and age

Just a hawk.  Rough and using multiple mediums.

Just a hawk. Rough and using multiple mediums.

Just some heron sketching.  I am really fascinated by herons and love seeing them.  I particularly enjoy trying to get their neck shapes right

Just some heron sketching. I am really fascinated by herons and love seeing them. I particularly enjoy trying to get their neck shapes right

And here is a more completed heron.  Kind of looks like a made up creature but I was actually looking at photograph to get the general proportions and look of the bird

And here is a more completed heron. Kind of looks like a made up creature but I was actually looking at photograph to get the general proportions and look of the bird

Obviuously, as I've probably mentioned before, I really like drawing birds.  This rooster head by no means is intended as support for USC (it was just a cool looking picture I saw and wanted to draw), I have allegiance with Clemson all the way

Obviuously, as I've probably mentioned before, I really like drawing birds. This rooster head by no means is intended as support for USC (it was just a cool looking picture I saw and wanted to draw), I have allegiance with Clemson all the way

Shaggy cows are my favorite cows

Shaggy cows are my favorite cows

I have no clue what this thing is, but I like how it looks anyways

I have no clue what this thing is, but I like how it looks anyways

Well that is all for now.  You can check out a ton more of my doodles, sketches, and drawings at my Pictures of the Apocolypse gallery.

Added Image:  Just found this, another heron sketch, thought I might as well add it too.

Rough and quick like most of my drawings.  Also another bird (heron).  I think this one is really good with theneck shape though the wing is off

Rough and quick like most of my drawings. Also another bird (heron). I think this one is really good with theneck shape though the wing is off

~ by Nathaniel on August 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “Late Summer . . . a Bunch of New Drawings”

  1. Really cool, Nathaniel! My favorite is the top one, because it reminds me of The Thief Lord. Are you familiar with that book? Check it: http://www.amazon.com/Thief-Lord-Cornelia-Funke/dp/1905294212/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1251726449&sr=8-1

    • Thanks ofr the comment dude, glad you enjoyed them. I don’t think I’ve heard about “The Thief Lord” but it sound great. I’m looking it up at work right now because I need something new to read anyways.

  2. I really like the heron. I’m pretty horrible at the rough & quick thing, and you seem to have that mastered!

Leave a Reply

 
