The Little Ghosts

Besides the rook skull that marks this blog as well as every online avatar that I think I currently have, one of my favorite drawings has to be my little ghosts.  As opposed to the bird skull and feather, which I have never really played with recreating or trying different ways, I have repeatedly drawn various versions over the little ghosts since there initial creation.  You can see two rough sketches of them on this post from awhile back.  Here though are a few more little ghost drawings (specifically the orginal):

This is a scan of the original pen drawing.  I titled it "little folks" at this point. I really wish, like the rook skull, that I knew what happen to the original hand drawings. Probably packed away with a bunch of my other stuff somewhere.

This is a scan of the original pen drawing. I titled it "little folks" at this point. I really wish, like the rook skull, that I knew what happen to the original hand drawings. Probably packed away with a bunch of my other stuff somewhere.

Here is the same drawing after I ran it through the Photoshop mill.  Coloring the little ghost in the lower right corner green was a completely spontaneous decision.

Here is the same drawing after I ran it through the Photoshop mill. Coloring the little ghost in the lower right corner green was a completely spontaneous decision.

This is what the cover of the poetry chapbook I made my senior year of college ended up looking like.  The name "Little Ghost" actually came from the title of one of the poems found within.

This is what the cover of the poetry chapbook I made my senior year of college ended up looking like. The name "Little Ghost" actually came from the title of one of the poems found within.

A recent drawing of the little ghosts which I drew with pencil and charcoal.

A recent drawing of the little ghosts which I drew with pencil and charcoal.

Interestingly both the rook skull and the original little ghost picture were used on the cover of poetry chapbooks that I made in college.  I think that the association I have between the drawings and what I consider some of my best poems (hence why I bothered to share them with others through chapbooks) is part of why I still use the images a lot.  In fact I have thought a lot about getting either the rook skull or some versions of the little ghosts tattooed on me for a long time.  Haven’t done it yet, but thought about it a whole ton.

~ by Nathaniel on September 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Little Ghosts”

  1. Wow i love these drawings, they look cute but the image is still brooding and has lots of atmosphere. First off it reminded me of a poem by Silvia Plath called Mushrooms:

    http://www.poemhunter.com/best-poems/sylvia-plath/mushrooms/

    I like the lil green one in the corner, he brings it to life 😀

    • Thanks for you comment. I’m glad that you enjoyed them. I agree, the little green one adds a whole other level to the picture.

      ~Nathaniel

Leave a Reply

 
