Black Coffee Drinker

Well, it might finally be happening, I may finally be relinquishing my need for cream or milk in my coffee.  I am not going to claim that I am there entirely yet, but over the past month or so I have drunk increasingly more and more black coffee and am finding that I quite like it.

For those of you who do not know I have had a long progression in the sphere of coffee drinking and appreciation (you can read all my previous post where coffee plays significance here).  The basic run down of how I have come to be a pretty avid coffee drinker goes something like this:

  • In high school, around sophomore or junior year, I began to try drinking coffee though in general avoid it.  When I did drink it I loaded it up with cream and sugar or sometimes cut it with hot chocolate.
  • In college I drank coffee more frequently, though still not on a daily basis.  I tended to have it with bagels a lot.  Also my friends and I frequented a little diner across the river from campus where I would always have my coffee with half a pack of sugar and one cream.
  • Not long afer moving to South Carolina, after graduating from college, I began to drink coffee every morning.  This is mostly because Natalia and Walker (whom I lived with) offered to make extra coffee for me to have some every morning.  Also I became friends with the Coffee Guy (Scott of Palmetto Bean Company) at the library and so tended to get a cup from him on a regular basis.
  • Somewhere within my first year of living in South Carolina I gave up on adding sugar to coffee primarily because I got tired of the last few sips being super sweet sludge (which is kind of strange considering my love of almost all things sweet).  I also increased my daily average consumption from about a cup a day to a definite two cups a day.
  • When I moved into my current house one of the first things I bought for myself was my own coffee maker.  I soon developed a consistent morning routine partially based upon coffee consumption (wake up at 6 am, take a shower, start the coffee, get dressed, turn on computer, get first cup of coffee, read webcomics, get second cup of coffee, read New York Times, finish coffee, take a piss, brush teeth, put together lunch, go to work).
  • Sometime after this time my average consumption increased some more to my current level average of 3-5 cups a day with a standard deviation of +/- 1.5 cups.
  • About six months ago or so I became a whole bean coffee utilizer for my home coffee-making.  I have not made pre-ground coffee at home since then.
  • And now I am on the verge of stopping putting milk or cream in my coffee.

I attribute part of my relinquishment of milk and cream to two people.  Bear from OrangeCoat and Brian from Untamed Beer, both of whom are avid supporters of black coffee drinking. My move towards black coffee is less about my disliking cream or milk in my coffee and more about 1) hating the fact that I always dump out milk because I can’t drink it fast enough and 2) just coming to appreciate the pure black flavor unhindered by any additives. I had a similar move with hot tea back in college when I gave up adding sugar.  Chances are I will always occasionally drink a cup of coffee with milk or cream in it, but I suspect that I am now moving into my life as a black coffee drinker.

 

Side Note: I think I want to make a t-shirt that says something like “If it can’t be a beer then it better be a fucking coffee damn-it!”  I think that just about sums up my beverage drinking feelings beyond consistent water drinking (hardly ever drink juice, have cut milk down a lot – see above wasting milk, and am trying hard to avoid soda ’cause it’s not good for ya).

~ by Nathaniel on September 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Black Coffee Drinker”

  1. Glad I could help. My theory on black coffee is simple, drinking coffee (or anything for that matter) shouldn’t be a chore. Needing cream, sugar and the like just makes things more complicated than it should be.

    • I think that I greatly appreciate your philosophy sir. Life is confusing and hectic enough without us having to throw a few extra wrenches into things which can suffice just the way they are. probably why I’ve never understood people who drop big bucks on tricking out their cars with chrome and supposed bad-assery.

Leave a Reply

 
