Rebate Card

So Verizon wireless gave me a “rebate card” instead of a check for the rebate I was eligible for, for my new phone.  The “rebate card” is kind of like a debate card and is supposed to work just like that.  Personally I think it is kind of stupid and annoying.  I do not need another debate card type-thing, a check would have sufficed entirely.  especially considering that I wanted to apply the rebate money to my bank account (which I can still do, it is just more of a son-of-a-bitch to do so). 

The “rebate card” is yet another example of how I think the world tends to over complicate things.  Also it is another example of how we claim to make plastic valuable (as opposed to making paper valuable).  It is all around just another absurdity which ultimately inconveniences me and makes me wish things would just be simpler.

~ by Nathaniel on September 23, 2009.

2 Responses to “Rebate Card”

  1. Well, I’d argue I’m more likely to spend on a debit card than remember to deposit a check, but either way the mail in rebate is one of the top 5 things I hate about life (that might be a bit of an over statement). As usual the Onion explains it best.

    Sanyo Praying Area Man Doesn’t Send In Rebate Form

    • It is true! The rebate is one of the most stupid inventions to make you feel like you are possibly saving money and it banks entirely on the fact that the company hopes that most people will not bother with sending them in. Fuck that, I will send in every rebate I am eligible for even if it is a hassle for me, in the hope that maybe douche-bag companies will just own up and mark down their products.

      Anyways, what I like about a check (besides having to go cash it) is that the amount on it is completely set. With the debit-style “rebate card” it has an amount on it, but there is the possibility of going over it in which case you get an extra charge on your phone bill. This kind of pisses me off because I just want my set earned rebate money, not this extra piece of plastic which I have to be responsibly to and is tied to my name. Oh well, such is life I guess.

Leave a Reply

 
