Sweet Potatoes Galore!

So Dan’s dad grows a lot of sweet potatoes and earlier this week he brought us a whole shit ton of them (like seriously, we probably have a cool thirty or forty sweet potatoes right now).

Now don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad thing, Dan, Holly and I are all fans of the sweet potatoes, and I am more than confident that they will all find a use, but that being said I am being a little pressed for creativity in regards to these tasty tubers.

A few weeks back I offered a recipe for black bean and sweet potato tacos, which is one use we may approach again.  But what else? Dan has said he will make a sweet potato casserole of some sort and said he found a recipe for an eggplant, spinach, and sweet potato curry yesterday (which definitely will be made because I have both and eggplant and a bunch of spinach which needs to be used . . . and I fucking love curry).

But what else? Any suggestions would be more than welcome.

It is great to get a bunch of fresh grown produce for free, but the downside of it is trying to figure out what to do with all of it.  I am a fan of variety and as such do not want to fall into the trap of making the same thing with the same ingredients over and over again.  This requires exploration.  This requires me to turn to the wondrous How to Cook Everything by Mark Bittman (my personal favorite guru of “do it yourself” cooking).

Not long back I received a shit ton of various chili peppers (Jalapeños, Serranos, and Habaneros) from two co-workers.  I love spicy food, and have thus found a way to include these to some degree in just about everything I have been cooking right now, but I also discovered that the peppers freeze relatively well and so I have a bunch to use at a later date (for chili, lots and lots of chili, because it is getting colder and chili is great for cold weather).

So sweet potatoes and chili peppers shall be consumed and great quantities and I will probably be very satisfied.  If I make anything very delightful I will try and share it here.

~ by Nathaniel on October 15, 2009.

One Response to “Sweet Potatoes Galore!”

  1. Well, didn’t take me all that long to find a sweet potato recipe. Thanks you Serious Eats for this recipe for Curried Sweet Potato and Apricot Soup. Sounds delightful (also, another point for the sweet potato and curry front).

Leave a Reply

 
