On Having Moved This Past Weekend

Well I am officially living in a new house now, which is pretty exciting.  I got all the moving of my stuff done this weekend and am now in the process of unpacking in successfully finding new locations for my possessions.  it has been almost three years since the last time I moved and even though things went fairly smoothly this past weekend I am hoping not to have to move for many years to come.  Simply put, moving kind of blows.

However, having a new place of living is always exciting.  In college I experienced this the most by having a new place of residence each year.  There are always new experiences to acquire at a place of residence.  One thing that I am really looking forward to is the big garden that Eliza and I are planning for the backyard at my new place of abode.  We’ve already begun growing seedlings (in seed trays) of a number of spring crops; some various Brassica and greens mostly.  And some of our orders for some new summer seeds have already been placed. 

The new location is also exciting. While I will not be close enough to walk to downtown Greenville anymore, I am still within a great proximity of many things.  The new location is a bit quieter which is really nice as well.  It is cool to be a bit more on the outskirts of the city after having spent almost three years very close to downtown.

Of course moving also comes with a little bit of sadness.  Having lived at my old place for about three years means that I have accumulated a lot of memories from the place.  Furthermore, besides my parents home back in Vermont, it is the longest I have lived in a single house up until this point (plan on changing that with this new place).  While my old house had its issues (especially in regards to the rental agency) I really enjoyed it as my first place of rental outside of college.  it gave me a lot of opportunities to experience and learn about living on my own and with different roommates.  Now that I am a little more versed in it I am ready for the next stage of being more holistically responsible for a house (which is the case with my new place of residence).

I look forward to it all.  Can’t wait for what great experiences are to come.

Note: To date the most difficult thing that I have moved or helped move, is a washing machine.  Dryers are pretty easy and light, but washers are a real pain in the ass.  They are so heavy and awkwardly balanced.  Fortunately with a handcart and a bit of muscle there were no major issues in moving my washer, but my hope is to not have to move it again for a long time.  I have been informed that refrigerators and uprights pianos are even worse than washing machines.  I imagine that grand pianos trump the both of those.

~ by Nathaniel on February 1, 2011.

2 Responses to “On Having Moved This Past Weekend”

  1. I have a feeling the deepest darkest corner of hell is people constantly being forced to pack and move.

    • Agreed! It is the level of hell directly beneath being eternally stuck in either a shopping mall or an airport terminal. Hell is indeed a wily place

Leave a Reply

 
