Tomorrow is Thanksgiving! Hooray!

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving 2011 and I couldn’t be more excited.  I love Thanksgiving, with all of its delightful food and fun family times.  For our holiday celebrating tomorrow I will be going to Calhoun Falls, SC with Eliza, to celebrate with a bunch of her extended family.  This will be second year I have had the opportunity to enjoy the comfort and fun of a real big southern family Thanksgiving.  The big difference for me this year is that, as of my wedding in October, I am now officially a member of this big family.

I am pretty sure I have written about Thanksgiving here multiple times previously (here is one example from 2009) but I will take the time to say it again, I think the holiday is fantastic.  Sure there are some who will take a slightly cynical look at the events history and raise questions about the merits (or lack there of) of early Puritan colonialism and the negative effects on the Native American populations.  I however like to focus on the more thankful aspect. 

Without question we seem to be living in a rather tempestuous and unpredictable age.  Our economy is looking pretty worse for wear.  Our government does not excite much (if any) confidence in the majority of us.  Even the prospects of being able to afford life’s necessities is up to question at times.  However, we can all use for a occassion to sit back and think to ourselves, “what do we have to be grateful for?” Hopefully, with a little effort we can all find some things to which we are very thankful.

It can be tough, but that is part of what can make a holiday like Thanksgiving great.  Really there doesn’t need to be any major stresses for it.  Take the time and sit back and relax, even if it is only for one day (and if you are part of the insane mass who intends to go shopping on Friday, you are going to need that relaxation).

I wish you all a happy holiday tomorrow.  May it be enjoyable, safe, and stress free.

Peacerinos for now.

~ by Nathaniel on November 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
