Writing for a Month

Hey look, I said I’d write a blog post today, and sure enough I am making good on it.  I try to keep my promises (sometimes).  So anyways, here is that blog post I said I would write (I could say that yesterday because I actually knew I’d have something to write about today).

So this year I’ve decided to try and participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo for those who like less of a mouthful).  I’ve known about NaNoWriMo for several years now and have known several friends and acquaintances who have participated in it in the past (including several who have completed the goal of writing a novel).  I think it is a pretty neat and good way to encourage people to sit themselves down and do some good and regular writing. 

The primary goal of NaNoWriMo is two write at least 50,000 words worth of fiction (hence “novel”) between Nov. 1st and Nov. 30th.  So, thirty days and fifty thousand words.  A challenge, absolutely, but definitely not an impossible one (36, 843 people succeeded at it last year). 

Being as today is only November 1st (Happy November 1st everybody!) I cannot say whether I will succeed at the goal or not.  But here’s to hoping that I do.  I feel like, in the very least, I started out on the right foot.  This morning the first thing I did after taking my dog out to pee and making my coffee, was sit down and turn out about 2, 500 words (in about an hour).  I feel like if I can keep up that pace then I should have no problems writing 50,000 words in a month (in fact at 2,500 words a day, I’d end up with 75,000 words in a month, well over the goal).

Of course I am being optimistic.  November is always a busy month with upcoming holidays and busy work schedules.  I know that some days I might not meet with as much success as others.  And while I am feeling pretty confident about material to write right now, I suspect I will hit some snags and walls along the way (my creativity definitely comes in bouts and fits).

So what am I writing?  A friend asked me last night if I don’t like to talk about it.  Truth is I don’t really mind.  It is a story I originally started about three years ago (and got about 16,000 words down for that matter).  Even though I started it back in 2009, I am not planning on using much (if any) of what I wrote then, but instead just using the general plot points I had drafted out, as well as some of the primary characters.  What’s it about?  Hard to say at this point.  Essentially I want it to be a kind of slice of life of late-twenty-somethings and early-thirty-somethings living in present.  I want it in particular to examine their personal struggles, ideas, and hopes.  Oh, and the Devil is a primary character and the end of the world may be only a week away.  You know, standard contemporary stuff really.

Anyways, we’ll see how it goes.  In the meantime, I may end up blogging a little less here while I focus on novel-writing (we’ll see, I really do like blogging).  I’ll try to post an update or two on my progress depending on if there is anything interesting to share (if not I won’t bother with the update).  Wish me luck alright?  Maybe in a month I’ll have a first draft of a novel.

~ by Nathaniel on November 1, 2012.

One Response to “Writing for a Month”

  1. […] Writing for a Month (generallordisimo.com) […]

Leave a Reply

 
