NaNoWriMo 2012 Update

Alright, so we’re halfway through November now, so I thought I’d give a bit of a progress report on my personal NaNoWriMo efforts.

Currently I am a bit behind.  Ideally, if I am looking to hit 50,000 words, I should be over 25,000 at this point.  I am not.  Oh well.  I’ve run into some writing blocks and my initial drive has definitely sizzled some.  I am still writing however, and plan on continuing to work on this story regardless of whether or not I actually do hit the 25,000 word goal.

Some thoughts:

  1. Fuck, writing this much is hard . . . and I used to do it pretty regularly.  Well, kind of.  I do not know what the average was that I would write a week while in college, but I know it was a lot (as it should have been, I was a Writing Major). The one major difference seems to me to be that right now in the NaNoWriMo process, I am writing solely for the sake of writing.   I do not have an assignment that is due.  I do not have a contract for a book.  I am just producing because I think it is a neat challenge.  That being said, the next point is that . . .
  2.  . . . I am a real bad procrastinater.  I knew this already, but damn, I suck sometimes.  I know that I should be writing.  I even know what I want to write about, and yet I do other stuff instead.  That is lame.  hey self, stop being a lazy piece of shit and get back to it . . . Okay.
  3. No matter how much I have thought about this story, and know where I want to go with it, I run into parts where I just get stumped and am not sure how to move forward.  In some ways, I am tempted to just skip forward in these parts, and come back at a later time and revisit them.  But, truth is, I don’t really want to do that.  It feels like too easy a way out, and I am not certain that I will be able to fill them in later anyways.  So, there have been some real struggles in this regard.
  4. What I am writing is an incredibly rough rough rough draft.  I realize as I am writing this story that a lot of it is not nearly as detailed or developed as I would like.  My characters are far from fleshed out, and my settings are more like place holders right now, rather than real feeling locations.  Even my plot is pretty rough, acting more as a driving and containing force rather than an actual conflict driven story base.  But, I am okay with all this roughness and I hae done very well at not just going back and making all sorts of changes.  This is mostly a sketch and I know, that I can go back later and do more work to flesh the whole thing out.
  5. I feel pretty good about the whole experience, even if I am behind on word count.  Truth is, even if I do not get to 50,000 words, I will still be happy, because this is some of the most fiction writing I have done in years.  I love fiction.  I am very much a storyteller and so, I am happy with being able to write one of the ones floating around in my head down.  So there is that at least.

Well, 14 days left.  I shall keep going.  I have the entire Thanksgiving week off so maybe I can do some major major writing then (maybe).  I’ll update again at the end of this shindig.  ‘Till then.

~ by Nathaniel on November 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
