Ugh . . . Broken Computer

My personal computer at home is glitching out something fierce this morning and that is a major “Ugh” worthy occasion.  There is fortune on two fronts.  One is that considering the computer is over five years old now, and really has had little to no major problems (besides occasional overheating), I feel like I’ve been pretty lucky.  The other bit of fortune is that Eliza’s step-dad is a wiz with computers and regularly offers help with fixes, and so I am pretty sure he should be able to get mine up and running again.

All that being said, I have been thinking more and more about getting a new computer sometime soon.  I work hard to take care of my personal computers, to avoid junking them up too much, so that I can have them for a relatively long time.  But after five years, regardless of how careful you’ve been, things just start slowing down.  It’d be nice to have something with a bit more memory and processing speed.  I’m also looking seriously at a few tablets, which I think I’d enjoy.  However, I don’t think that I want a tablet to replace an actually computer.  Use my computer for too many things that I don’t quite think carry over to tablets all that well, and so if I do get a tablet, it’ll be something in addition to having a working computer (either my current one fixed or some replacement).

Until I get my machine back up and running I’ll probably just use Eliza’s computer for basic tasks I need to get done.

Until then.

~ by Nathaniel on September 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
