Scalding Coffee . . . A Then and Now

The New York Times has been running an enjoyable series of articles and videos called “Retro Report” in which they go back to big stories of decades past and talk about what happened then, and how the world is different for it now.  This week’s story is a particularly enjoyable bit about the 1992 McDonald’s coffee scalding case.  While I was only eight years old at the time, I still remember this very clearly (and specifically my dad talking to me about it). What I do not remember nearly as clearly, because I was only eight at the time, was what on-the-go hot beverage drinking culture was like in the early 90s versus what i would grow up with to its present iteration now.  It is that which fascinates me.

Getting coffee or tea or hot chocolate while out and about it just a normal thing in my life.  So much so that I regularly bring a travel mug wherever I go, just in the off chance that I’ll want something.  I have a travel mug that sits on my desk all day long, and it is regularly filled with coffee or tea, which then accompanies me as I make my way throughout my workplace.  We like our hot beverages to go.

I also burn myself, quite regularly, because I have no sense of proper patience when it comes to hot foodstuffs.  Fortunately none of these burns have even been severe enough to warrant medical attention (though I did pour near boiling water on my hand a few months back, that might have been worth a doctors look).  I suppose the whole burn thing is as much a comment on our culture as is the traveling beverages.  We don’t sit still.  We hate to wait.

That is all I’ve got for now.  It’s afternoon and that means it is time for some tea.

Peace.

~ by Nathaniel on October 21, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
