All in the Palm of Your Hand

There needs to be a word (preferably a German word, though a Portuguese or Japanese one could suffice) that describes the feeling of profound wonder mixed with unease and discomfort at the advancements of technology.  Then that word needs to be used by me, to describe how I feel after watching this:

It really does amaze me.  Watching that video I can honestly say that I use probably about 25 of the 30 on a very regular basis from my iPhone.  And yet, as amazing as it is, there is this uncomfortable undercurrent . . . what is that?  Is it, Oh dear God, could it just be . . . me getting older . . . and lamenting for things past? . . .

Nah! Couldn’t be that.  Probably just something vague sense of the coming rise of the Thinking-Machines and the end of humanity as we all know it.

~ by Nathaniel on November 11, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
